E Visa For Cyprus

Are you planning to go to Cyprus? Do you need a E-visa to visit Cyprus? If yes, then you should know that it is easier said than done. You must meet certain criteria and understand the requirements before applying for your E visa. The smooth procedure of getting an E visa will help you save money and avoid unnecessary delays with your plans.You have a family member or friend from Cyprus, but you don’t know what to do. The best thing you can do for them is find a good immigration lawyer that can guide them through the process of obtaining an E-Visa for Cyprus.

If you are planning to move from another country or from other EU countries, Cyprus is one of the best options for you. You would like to visit the country or work there and obtain E-visa. This article will give you an insight about working in Cyprus as a foreigner..

E Visa For Cyprus

Categories of visas

Short-stay or travel visas, including multiple-entry visas.

If you are traveling to the Republic of Cyprus for reasons other than immigration, and your visit does not exceed three months, you might need a travel visa. The travel visa gives you the right for a continuous visit or several visits to Cyprus. The duration of visits in total should not exceed three months in any half of a year from the date of the first visit. In general the short-stay Cyprus visa is issued for one or several visits.

In case you need to come to Cyprus often (business trips etc.) it is possible to get a multiple-entry visa for several visits. The total duration of the visits should not exceed three months in any half of a year from the date of the first entry. The multiple-entry Cyprus visa is valid for one year. In exceptional cases it might be valid for more than a year but no more than five years for certain categories of persons.

How to get a short-stay Cyprus visa

Long-stay visas

If you are planning to stay in Cyprus for more than three months you will have to apply for a long-stay visa.

Cyprus Residence Visa Information

Cyprus Work Permit Information

Cyprus Student Visa Information

Airport transit visa (ATV)

If you have to pass through the international transit area of Cypriot airports without actually entering the national territory of Cyprus during a stop-over or transfer between two stages of an international flight, you might need an Airport Transit Visa. The requirement to have this type of visa is an exception to the general rule to transit without a visa through Cyprus.

Countries whose citizens are required to have Cyprus visa for Airport Transit

Transit visas

If you are traveling from one country to another country and you have to pass through the territory of the Republic of Cyprus, to do so you might need a Transit Visa. This visa may be issued for one transit, or exceptionally for several transits. The duration of each transit case should not exceed five days. The transit visa is issued provided that the entry of the traveler into the territory of the destination country is guaranteed and that the route taken normally requires transit through Cyprus.

Group visas

This is a transit visa or a visa limited to a maximum of thirty days, which may be affixed to a group passport – except where national legislation provides otherwise – issued to a group of travelers formed prior to the decision to travel. The group visa is issued, provided that the members of the group enter the territory, stay there and leave it as a group.

Group visas may be issued to groups of between 5 and 50 people. The person in charge of the group should possess an individual passport and, where necessary, an individual visa.

Visa policy for the Republic of Cyprus

The visa policy for the Republic of Cyprus determines who may enter the country without a visa, and also outlines the countries that need a visa to visit the island state.

As Cyprus joined the European Union as a full member on May 1st 2004, it largely shares the same visa policy as other EU countries and those that have signed the Schengen Agreement for passport-free travel, though it is not yet a full member of the Schengen Area.

Accordingly, citizens of over 90 countries, including EU member states, do not need a visa for Cyprus for varying periods of stay depending on their nationality.

As the visa policy for Cyprus is based on Schengen acquis, citizens of Schengen member states are granted freedom of movement to the island country, simply by presenting a valid national ID card at border control points.

Visitors from a select number of third-national countries are also permitted visa-free access to the Republic of Cyprus for stays up to 90 days for tourism, business, medical treatment or to transit to an onward destination if they present a valid passport upon entry.

However, this is expected to change by the end of 2022, when it is expected that these same travelers will be required to register for an online ETIAS authorization to visit Cyprus as well as the 26 Schengen Countries.

All other foreign citizens are required to obtain an embassy visa for Cyprus from a diplomatic government office of the country in advance of travel, no matter the expected length of stay or purpose of the visit.

Below you will find further information about the different types of visa for the Republic of Cyprus.

Tourist Visa Policy for the Republic of Cyprus

The Republic of Cyprus immigration policy states that there are currently around 90 nationalities who do not need a visa for Cyprus to visit for short tourist stays.

This includes all citizens of European Union countries, who are permitted a visa-free stay for tourism simply by presenting a valid national ID card at Cypriot border checkpoints.

Residents and nationals of a number of other countries are permitted to travel to the island without a tourist visa for Cyprus for stays up 90 days, on the condition that they carry a valid passport to present on arrival.

However, an additional requirement for tourist travelers will be introduced by the end of 2022, when ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorisation System) will be implemented for all countries with visa policies based on the Schengen acquis.

Once this travel authorization system is live, all third-country nationals of the Schengen Area will be required to register for an ETIAS visa waiver online and receive approval before they can travel to Cyprus for tourism.

All other foreign visitors need a tourist visa for Cyprus and are required to obtain this travel document from an embassy or consulate of the Republic well in advance of their intended date of arrival.

Leave a Comment