Do I Need Visa For Malaysia

Many people have the questions that whether they need Visa for Malaysia or not? And if the answer is yes, then how to get Visa for Malaysia? With the tourism industry flourishing in Malaysia, a lot of people are wondering what are the best places to visit in Malaysia. Combining its rich history, natural beauty and warmth of the local people, Malaysia is one destination that you can never miss. There are many types of tourists visas available from Malaysia such as social visit pass, business visa (Malaysia), transit visa etc.

Visiting Malaysia as a tourist is not challenging, as long as you have the documents to enter and visit the country. However, it could get complicated if you wish to stay for a long period of time, especially if you bring your loved ones along. It is important that you clear all your doubts beforehand because Visa requirements differ according to the country you are coming from.

Do I Need Visa For Malaysia

If you intend to visit Malaysia, then there are a few things you need to know. Make sure you have the correct documents to enter the country. Here’s everything you need to know about traveling to Malaysia as well as entry requirements. This guide will also give you an overview of important facts which you should be adequately aware of before your trip.

Table of Contents

Who Needs a Visa for Malaysia?

The following countries have to be in possession of a visa when traveling to Malaysia for any length of time:

Burkina FasoBurundiCameroonCentral African Republic
ChinaColombiaComorosCongo Democratic Republic
Congo RepublicCôte D’IvoireDjiboutiEquatorial Guinea
Hong KongIndiaLiberiaMali
MontenegroSri LankaUnited Nations (Laissez Passer)Western Sahara

Malaysia Visa-Exempt Countries

There are countries whose citizens are exempt from holding Malaysian visa if they are only travelling for short stays.

For stays of up to 90 days

If you are from one of the following countries/territories, you can travel to Malaysia visa-free if your stay is shorter than 90 days:

CubaCzech RepublicDenmarkEgyptFinland
Kyrgyz RepublicKyrgyzstanLebanonLiechtensteinLuxembourg
PolandQatarRomaniaSaudi ArabiaSlovakia
South KoreaSpainSt MarinoSwedenSwitzerland
SyriaTunisiaTurkeyTurkmenistanUnited Arab Emirates
United KingdomUruguayYemen  

For stays of up to 30 days

If you are from one of the following countries/territories, you can travel to Malaysia visa-free if you are staying for up to 30 days:

BoliviaBulgariaCambodiaCape VerdeChad
ChileCosta RicaEcuadorEl SalvadorEstonia
GabonGeorgiaGreeceGuatemalaGuinea Republic
HaitiHondurasHong Kong SARIraqKazakhstan
LatviaLithuaniaMacao SARMacedoniaMadagascar
NicaraguaNorth KoreaNorth YemenPalestinePanama
ParaguayPortugalRussiaSao Tome & PrincipeSenegal
TogoUkraineUpper VoltaUzbekistanVatican City

For stays of up to 14 days

If you are from the following countries/territories, you can travel to Malaysia without a visa if your stay is up to 14 days:

  • Libya
  • Macao (Holders of Special Administrative Region Travel Permits)
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Yemen

Business trips of up to 60 days

Certain countries are eligible to get an APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC), which allows the holder to travel to other countries included on the agreement visa-free.

Leave a Comment