How Many Countries Ban Visa In Uae

With the UAE being such a diverse country, it is only to be expected that some countries will levy visa restrictions particularly for their citizens. The good news for expats travelling to the United Arab Emirates with an Indian passport is that there are very few countries that ban visa.There are almost 200 countries that have visa restrictions. Most of them come with their own set of additional requirements and often don’t allow tourists to enter their borders, even if they can find a way to get there. Make sure you know exactly what countries ban visas and how to get around it.

How Many Countries Ban Visa In Uae

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a country in the southeast corner of the Arabian Peninsula. It is on the Persian Gulf and has direct access to the sea. The major cities in UAE include Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Al Ain and Ajman. Great lifestyle options abound in Abu Dhabi with plenty of shops to visit, cultural and historical sites to experience and museums galore!There are many residents who live in [UNKNOWN] and they have their visas expired, which means they cannot enter the UAE. However, this article is not about the visa, but it’s about the ban on visa imposed on those residents.

The United Arab Emirates has stopped issuing new visas to citizens of 13 countries including Iran, Syria, Afghanistan and Pakistan, as per an immigration circular that came into effect on November 18.


UAE stopped issuing visas temporarily to Afghans, Pakistanis and citizens of several other countries over security concerns, a source told Reuters. No other details were made available. Applications for new employment and visit visas had been suspended for nationals – those outside the UAE of the 13 countries – until further notice as well.


The list includes Iran, Syria, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Somalia, Libya, Yemen, Algeria, Kenya, Iraq, Lebanon, Tunisia and Turkey.

Which Countries Can Now Travel to the UAE?

Flights have now restarted and entry is now permitted to passengers arriving in the United Arab Emirates from the following 12 African countries:

  • Botswana
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Republic of Congo
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  • Zimbabwe

In addition, the regulations for entry have been updated for those arriving from the following 3 nations in Africa:

  • Ghana
  • Rwanda
  • Uganda

New COVID-19 testing regulations for travelers from African countries

Travelers arriving from any of the 12 aforementioned countries, as well as from Ghana, Rwanda, and Uganda, must take a total of 3 COVID-19 tests.

The first test must be performed at an approved laboratory within 48 hours before departure. They must bring the negative test result to be permitted to travel to the UAE.

They must also take a rapid PCR test at the airport before departure.

Finally, upon arrival in the UAE, they will be tested a third time (PCR).

Changing Restrictions for Travelers from African Countries to the UAE

The United Arab Emirates’ National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Emergency Management Authority (NCEMA) had previously banned all travel from the 12 aforementioned African states.

Individuals who had spent time in these countries within the past 14 days were not permitted to enter the UAE.

This directive led the UAE’s national airlines, including Emirates, to suspend flights between the country and these destinations. From December 28, 2021, all flights from the following destinations were cancelled:

  • Republic of Kenya
  • Abuja
  • Casablanca
  • Harare
  • Lagos
  • Lusaka

All passengers originating from Ethiopia or Tanzania were also banned from using the airlines to travel to Dubai (including transiting through the city).

On Wednesday, January 26, 2022, the NCEMA announced that the travel ban to the 12 African countries would be lifted. Officials also confirmed that flights would resume to the UAE from all of these destinations.

Various coronavirus travel restrictions remain in place for the UAE. The regulations vary depending on the emirate in question.

For example, Abu Dhabi has mandatory quarantine measures for all arrivals except those arriving from green list countries.

This green list is updated regularly to reflect the prevalence of COVID-19 cases in other states.

In January 2022, several African countries were moved to this “safe” list, including Algeria, Morocco, Seychelles and Tunisia. Meanwhile, Jordan, Lebanon, Qatar, Russia, Turkey, and the UK were removed.

Related News

Leave a Comment