How Many Countries Don’t Need Visa For Usa

Travel is one of the best things in life. If you are a person who enjoy travelling and would like to know how you can come to the US, you are on the right URL. This article will highlight some of the countries that do not require you to get US visa before travelling to America.The United States of America is the land of unlimited opportunities for work, family or studies. But how many people know that the U.S. citizens can visit 147 countries without visa? Most people don’t know that about the USA…

How Many Countries Don’t Need Visa For Usa

The United States of America is one of the most popular countries in the world, and not just among Americans. According to a study done by Google, over 34 million people visit United States websites every month and this figure keeps on rising every year. Approximately 12 million foreigners apply for US visas each year, with most of them being granted permission.While you can easily enter the US with a valid passport and Visa, there are many other countries that do not require a Visa to enter the US. You don’t have to deal with the hassle of maintaining valid visas while travelling or if you wish to work in the USA – simply get a Permanent Resident Status.A majority of the immigrant visas issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services are for family members of U.S. citizens and legal permanent residents (LPR). The second largest group of beneficiary visas includes those granted for employment-based reasons, which are issued to beneficiaries who have a demonstrated ability to perform skilled and unskilled jobs in the U.S. labor market, or have exceptional abilities in recognized fields. The diversity visa lottery program is a small program that makes available up to 55,000 permanent resident visas annually through random selection to nationals of countries whose natives do not meet either the numerical or the per country limits of the family or employment preferences.

Where Can Americans Travel Without a Visa?

Here is the list of 142 countries that US citizens can visit without a visa in 2022:

American SamoaGibraltarNetherlands
AndorraGreeceNew Zealand
Antigua and BarbudaGrenadaNorthern Mariana Islands
BarbadosHondurasPhu Quoc
BelarusHong KongPitcairn Islands
BermudaIndonesiaPuerto Rico*
Bosnia and HerzegovinaIsle of ManSabah and Sarawak
BotswanaIsraelSaint Kitts and Nevis
British Virgin IslandsItalySaint Lucia
BruneiJamaicaSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
BulgariaGeorgiaSan Marino
CanadaKazakhstanSao Tome and Principe
Cayman IslandsKiribatiSenegal
Central African RepublicKish IslandSerbia
ChileSouth KoreaSingapore
ColombiaKosovoSint Maarten
Cook IslandsKyrgyzstanSlovakia
Costa RicaLatviaSlovenia
CroatiaLesothoSouth Africa
CuracaoLichtensteinSouth Ossetia
Czech RepublicLuxembourgSvalbard
DominicaNorth MacedoniaSweden
Dominican RepublicMalaysiaSwitzerland
El SalvadorMarshall IslandsTransnistria
Equatorial GuineaMayotteTrinidad and Tobago
Falkland IslandsMexicoTurkish Republic of Northern Cyprus
Faroe IslandsMicronesiaTurks and Caicos Islands
FinlandMonacoUnited Kingdom
French GuianaMontenegroUS Virgin islands
French PolynesiaMontserratVanuatu
French West IndiesMoroccoVatican City

*US citizens do not need a passport to visit Puerto Rico. For more information, visit: Do you need a Passport to go to Puerto Rico?

Countries Requiring e-Visas for Americans

Besides the visa free countries, there are a few others which do not necessarily ask for a visa, but some form of document. These documents could be:

  • eVisas;
  • Electronic Travel Authorities;
  • Permits from the US or the foreign government.

In addition, there are also some countries for which you will get a visa once you arrive there. Their policies require that as soon as you are in customs and border of these foreign countries, the authorities will stamp a visa on your passport. The validity of the visa will depend on how long you are planning to stay and the individual rules and regulations of the country you are visiting.

The countries and territories for which you will need some sort of documentation such as e-visas or ETAs are listed below:

AntarcticaIndiaSan Andres and Leticia
Ascension IslandIraqi KurdistanSeychelles
AustraliaJan MayenSolomon Islands
Baikonur and PrizoreskKuwaitSouth Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
BangladeshLaosSri Lanka
BeninLebanonSudan Darfur
Brest and GrodnoMadagascarSuriname
British Indian Ocean TerritoryMalawiTajikistan
BrazilMauritaniaTibet Autonomous Region
Burkina FasoMount AthosTimor-Leste
Cape VerdeMyanmarTonga
ComorosNepalTristan de Cunha
Cote D’IvoireNiueTurkey
EgyptPapua New GuineaUganda
EthiopiaQatarUnited Arab Emirates
GalapagosSaint HelenaZambia

40 Countries With Visa Requirements for US Citizens

Finally, there are some countries for which you must absolutely get a visa. The visa process will depend on the rules and regulations of the country you want to visit. Getting a visa for these countries is quite difficult as they are mostly places in conflict or which do not have a good relationship with the US.

The countries and territories requiring a visa for US citizen visitors are listed below.

  • Abkhazia
  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Artsakh
  • Bhutan
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Chad
  • China
  • Crimea
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Cuba
  • Eritrea
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Hainan
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Margarita Island
  • Nauru
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Tokelau
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen

Besides the countries and territories which ask for US citizens to have visas, there is one country which does not accept visitors. This country is North Korea which is currently not available to visit for US citizens or other countries.

Passport Validity Requirements

The requirement to travel to the countries listed above is to have a valid passport. But, different countries have different policies on the validity of the passport.

Countries that require your passport to be valid for at least 6 more months after you arrive are as follows:

AlgeriaIranSaudi Arabia
BahrainIsraelSolomon Islands
British Virgin IslandsKiribatiSri Lanka
Cayman IslandsMarshall IslandsTanzania
Central African RepublicMicronesiaThailand
Cote D’IvoireNicaraguaTonga
EgyptPalauUnited Arab Emirates
El SalvadorPapua New GuineaVanuatu
Equatorial GuineaPhilippinesVenezuela

Leave a Comment