How Many Countries On Arrival Visa For Canadian Passport

Canada is known to be one of the most beautiful countries in the world. It also has a lot to offer in terms of entertainment and other business opportunities. That is why Canada has also been ranked as one of the best countries to live in. A lot of people are interested in moving to Canada so they can enjoy the benefits that it has to offer. Is it easy for an individual to move or visit Canada? How many countries on arrival visa for Canadian passport?

As a frequent traveller, you always want to go to different country for your holidays and for work. So, you must have been in confusion about the number of countries you could visit on arrival visa.Nowadays to make a visit of the new country many people are looking for more information. More information will enable them to take an appropriate decision at the end. There are some simple rules which you will follow to get visa on arrival without any hassles. You can get the detailed information here. Many Canadians are wondering about the best way to get into the US for cheap. They search for airport lounges, airline miles and hotel points. But sadly it doesn’t work that way at all. You see, when you apply for a visa stamp you’re lucky to get even 50% off your land entrance fees. So there are many who just don’t bother with travel. Others actually book long flights to remote airports so that they can acutally save money on border costs.

How Many Countries On Arrival Visa For Canadian Passport

Travelling Without a Visa for Canadians

When you are travelling to a country without visa restrictions, you will likely just need to show your passport, and you are good to go. Some of the other documents you may need are:

  • International travel insurance.
  • Proof of accommodation.
  • Proof of sufficient financial means.
  • Some countries, such as NZ and Australia, will also ask you to submit an Electronic Travel Authorization, which you can get online. Starting from November 2023, you will also need an ETIAS for trips to EU countries.

45 Countries Canadians Can Visit With Visa on Arrival

Canadian citizens travelling to the following countries will be required to get a visa after arriving at the airport, seaport, or land border:

  1. Armenia* – up to 180 days within 1 year
  2. Bahrain* – up to 14 days
  3. Benin* – up to 8 days
  4. Bangladesh – up to 30 days
  5. Burkina Faso – up to 1 month
  6. Cambodia* – up to 30 days
  7. Cape Verde Islands – up to 30 days
  8. Comores Islands
  9. Egypt* – up to 30 days
  10. Ethiopia* – up to 90 days
  11. Gabon* – up to 90 days
  12. Guinea-Bissau* – up to 90 days
  13. Iraq – up to 15 days, but only if arriving via the Erbil and Sulaymaniyah airports.
  14. Jordan
  15. Kenya* – up to 3 months
  16. Kuwait* – up to 3 months
  17. Laos* – up to 30 days
  18. Lebanon – up to 1 month
  19. Madagascar* – up to 90 days
  20. Malawi*
  21. Maldives – up to 30 days
  22. The Marshall Islands – up to 90 days
  23. Mauritania
  24. Mozambique – up to 30 days.
  25. Nepal – up to 90 days
  26. Palau Islands – up to 30 days
  27. Papua New Guinea – up to 60 days
  28. Paraguay – up to 90 days. Only at Silvio Pettirossi International Airport in Asunción.
  29. Rwanda – up to 30 days
  30. Samoa – up to 60 days
  31. Saudi Arabia* – up to 90 days.
  32. Seychelles – up to 3 months
  33. Sierra Leone
  34. The Solomon Islands – up to 3 months
  35. Somalia – up to 30 days. Can be obtained at the Berbera, Borama, Burao, Erigavo, Hargeisa, Bosaso, Galcaio and Mogadishu airports.
  36. St. Helena – up to 90 days.
  37. Tanzania* – up to 3 months
  38. Timor-Leste – up to 30 days
  39. Togo – up to 7 days
  40. Tonga – up to 31 days
  41. Tuvalu – up to 1 month
  42. Uganda*
  43. The United Arab Emirates – up to 30 days
  44. Zambia* – up to 90 days
  45. Zimbabwe* – up to 90 days

*You can also apply for an eVisa for these countries.

How Can Canadians Apply for a Visa on Arrival?

As the name suggests, you apply for a Visa on Arrival once you arrive at your destination, either at the airport, seaport, or the land border. There, you will show your documents, pay the fee, and wait to get your visa.

This means you don’t need to visit an Embassy or wait several days for the visa to be processed before you travel, although sometimes, you do have to get a pre-authorization or start the application online before departure.

Documents required when applying for a Visa on Arrival

The documents you will need when you apply for a Visa on Arrival change depending on the country you are visiting. This includes:

  • Your passport (valid for at least another 6 months and with at least 1 blank visa page).
  • Proof you will depart the country after your visa expires (return travel ticket).
  • Proof you have accommodation in your destination (e.g. hotel reservation or letter of invitation from a host).
  • Proof you have enough financial means to cover your stay (e.g. bank statements)
  • Travel health insurance.
  • Letter of Invitation from a host/institution at your destination (if relevant)
  • Pre-authorization (if required).

You won’t always have to show all these documents. Sometimes your passport and flight ticket will be enough, but the requirements change by country, so always make sure to get updated before departing.

Time required to get a Visa on Arrival

It can take anywhere from a few minutes to several hours to get your VOA. This will depend on your destination, the requirements, and even how long the line in front of you is.

35 Countries Canadians Can Visit with an eVisa

Canadian citizens can apply for an eVisa visit the following countries:

  1. Angola – up to 30 days
  2. Armenia – up to 180 days within a year
  3. Azerbaijan – up to 30 days
  4. Bahrain – up to 14 days
  5. Benin – up to 30 days
  6. Cambodia – up to 30 days
  7. Bahrain – up to 14 days
  8. Benin – up to 30 days
  9. Côte d’Ivoire – up to 3 months
  10. Djibouti – up to 31 days
  11. Egypt – up to 30 days
  12. Ethiopia – up to 90 days
  13. Gabon – up to 90 days
  14. Guinea – up to 5 years
  15. Guinea-Bissau – up to 90 days
  16. Kenya – up to 3 months
  17. Kuwait – up to 3 months
  18. Laos – up to 30 days
  19. Madagascar – up to 90 days
  20. Malawi
  21. Myanmar – up to 28 days
  22. Oman – up to 30 days
  23. Papua New Guinea – up to 60 days
  24. Rwanda – up to 30 days
  25. Saudi Arabia – up to 90 days
  26. Sri Lanka – up to 30 days
  27. Suriname – up to 90 days
  28. Tajikistan – up to 45 days
  29. Tanzania – up to 3 months
  30. Turkey – up to 3 months
  31. Uganda
  32. Vietnam – up to 30 days
  33. Zambia – up to 90 days
  34. Zimbabwe – up to 90 days
  35. South Sudan  – up to 6 months

You have to get an eVisa online, before departing for your trip. You can usually apply for an eVisa through the official government pages, which have their own servers.

Check the website of the Embassy or Ministry of Foreign Affairs/Tourism of the country where you want to travel to find the eVisa application link.

30 Countries Canadians Need a Visa to Visit

If you have a Canadian passport, you will need a visa to visit the following countries:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Algeria
  3. Bhutan
  4. Burundi
  5. Cameroon
  6. Central African Republic
  7. Chad
  8. China
  9. Republic of the Congo
  10. Democratic Republic of the Congo
  11. Cuba
  12. Equatorial Guinea
  13. Eritrea
  14. Ghana
  15. Iran
  16. Iraq*
  17. North Korea
  18. Liberia
  19. Libya
  20. Mali
  21. Nauru
  22. Niger
  23. Nigeria
  24. Russia
  25. Sudan
  26. Syria
  27. Turkmenistan
  28. Venezuela
  29. Yemen

*If you enter the country via Erbil and Sulaymaniyah airports, you may get a Visa on Arrival valid for 15 days.

To apply for a visa, you have to go to the Embassy of your destination country in Canada.

Leave a Comment